h1

Great Sand Dunes and Christ in the Desert

September 21, 2008

A couple of images from a more recent trip to the Southwest. I visited my good friend Eleanor McKay, whom I knew as a child as “Tiggy”. Tiggy lives in Albuquerque, NM and is a highly original and creative artist, whose work I find delightfully odd, unique, and inspiring.

Ruins of an old adobe church on the way to Ghost Ranch from Sante Fe.

The next two images are from a remote monastary called Christ in the Desert, thirty miles down rough road in the desert. It is a ‘silent order’ and though I don’t consider myself religious in a traditional sense, the intense spirituality and silence there is a balm to my big city, caffeine fueled personae.

Great Sand Dunes National Park in Colorado. This fantastic, other-worldly environment, is for some reason, not that much visited. I had the dunes to myself. Of course, I had hiked in before dawn to get the shot.

2 comments

  1. Beautiful images of the dunes. We visited earlier this year – we arrived at mid-day, and I was thinking how incredible this place would be at dawn or dusk. Now I know!

    I also love the far shot of the monastery against the cliffs and sky. It gives a sense of the divine. As an East Coast Canadian, I cannot get enough of the southwest. Thanks for sharing…


    • Hi Deborah,
      Thank you for commenting on my blog. It is very nice to know others have been to The Great Sand Dunes. What a remarkable place! It was so very, very cold the morning I walked into the dunes before dawn. Plus, I had to ford the creek at the beginning of the dunes…. brrrrr.
      It seems you and I share a love of the Southwest. I very much enjoyed looking at the images on your website and have been to some of the same places, Antelope Canyon being one of my favorites.



Leave a Reply

